Interesting email we received today (some text X’d out, typos left in). I’ve done a search and other blogs have written about this company today. I really hope they didn’t do what I think they might have done.
Hi, Heather Harde
I am peter XXXXX who is working for XXXX.com. My company recently lauched XXXX.com
I sent to our company pro file to http://www.techcrunch.com/submit-profileNow if possible , we would like you to post our company’s simple article
at techcrunch.com like salesforce.comIf Nick Gonzalez or Michael Arrington introduce XXXX.com in positive way
, we can pay him for $ 1,500 USD via paypal.com or wire transfer
within one business day.We plan to advertise monthly AD in six premium sponsorship ad ($ 10,000 per
month) after we check that Nick or Michael introduce XXXX.com in positive
way.XXXX.com is not defferent with other aggregating site because our user
can make great video series with others.
That is tatally different with digg.com and other video aggregating site.
Our XXXX toolbar is more powerful to search various videos in each sites.As XXX.com saw our site and introduced XXXX.com today for free at
http://XXXXI don’t know it was positive article but if techcru nch.com can introduce
XXXX.com more positive way,
we can make good realationship with techcrunch.comPlease let me know if available.
Best Regards
Peter XXXX


You should make their names public.
If you don’t, they’ll just keep doing it - with you and others.
And undoubtedly some others will take the bait.
So tell the world!
Okay, it’s April 10th, so I hope you are not setting us all up for another April Fool’s joke for 2008!
Seriously, that is real? ok… well you can tell him “I’ll take that $1,500 via PayPal and I’ll make his site seem like the best thing next to sliced bread.” Also, if he wants to drop $10,000 - Sure, I’ll let him have my whole pathetic right side of ad space!
That was funny, but I know the guy was serious, or was he?
Rex
Hmm… I didn’t know Borat knew how to use a keyboard.
I got this same email a few weeks ago - offering the same amount of $ (on my little blog). Good old Gmail threw it in the “crap” folder, but I saw it as I was clearing things out.
Rob
It was fairly easy to figure out. And I think he was serious. I won’t post the name, but trust me it was simple to find - four keywords in Technorati.
It is making the rounds. I got something similar.
Hello Louis,
I was interested to read your Silicon Valley Blog tips on Linked’in. Some of your suggestions have or will be implemented on XXXX. I am the XXXX for XXXX - maybe you would like to join my network and see what you think? It has more of a community aspect (blogs, forums, hubs etc than Linked’in).
XXXX is a business social network with over one million members in Europe and 700k in China thanks to our strategic investment in XXXX
Here is the official blurb:
With XXXX, you will be able to extend, maintain and profit from your business network and the network of other XXXX members to :
- Find clients, suppliers, business partners or colleagues with our powerful multi-criteria search engine,
- Find former classmates and colleagues,
- Become visible with a professional online profile” and even be headhunted or contacted by potential clients and partners,
- Exchange information on hot topics and deepen your knowledge in the forums or hubs or develop a reputation as an expert in an interest area by creating your own “hub”.
So please join as part of my network and benefit from XXXX to accelerate your business and career networking.
Kind regards,
Peter XXXX
ok, a quick search plus another quick search brings me to http://mashable.com/2007/04/09/ganges.
someone has some ’splainin to do.
That one’s hardly glowing in its praise, Concerned Citizen. Don’t be so quick to impute wrongdoing.
Heh, Cash-more..
Btw, anybody notice that his subscriber numbers have increased 5x in the past month or so? He is at it again..
“I sent to our company pro file…”
Amateur-file it seems….
just look up on technorati for “video aggregating site”, (thats how they describe themselves in the email) and you find that in recent days many bloggers have written about video aggregating website called “ganges”.
and most posts have similar things like no link to the website and use objective side languageÇD
Fantastic, does it work? (getting out my checkbook…)